Off-the-Wall Christmas Movies: an Introduction

Well, Thanksgiving’s over so I guess I have to accept the inevitability of Christmas.

It’s not that I don’t like Christmas, mind you. I love Christmas. It’s a lot of work but it’s also a lot of fun, and I think it’s always rewarding to see everything come together at the end of the month. I think the main reason I find it hard to accept the beginning of the Christmas season is the sheer over-commercialization of it.

Seriously, it seems like Christmas ads start popping up in magazines and whatnot in October, and that is just TOO DARN EARLY. I do not want to think about Christmas before Halloween has even happened. I kind of build up a resistance to it, because it seems like people are always trying to shove Christmas down my throat. I would rather just take it at my own pace and get into the Christmas spirit when I’m ready to, not when people who want to sell me stuff tell me I should be.

Anyway, now that I have accepted the arrival (or imminent arrival if you prefer) of the Christmas season, I am going to be writing about unusual Christmas movies, or movies that maybe you didn’t know were actually Christmas movies. These include my number one favorite movie of all time, which for some unfathomable reason I have yet to write about on this blog. Well, that is a situation that will soon be remedied.

This is a short post because I need to actually watch the movies I am going to write about, so if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got a (Christmas) movie (or three, or four) to watch.

Leave a Reply

