Updates

Hello everyone, I just wanted to post a quick update. I don’t have anything particularly enlightening to say here, I just wanted to let you all know that I’ve added tags to most posts (that rhymed!) so you can click on them to see other posts with the same tag. I’m sure I didn’t need to explain that but whatevs.

I’m sure I forgot some but I like the sense of connectivity that the tags provide. It reminded me of other stuff I’ve written about, which was a fun little trip down memory lane. Bruce Willis and Arnold Schwarzenegger showed up a lot, which kind of made me happy.

So, there’s that. Oh, and I also wanted to give a quick update on The Following, the dreadful Kevin Bacon show I wrote about a while ago. It hasn’t really changed much- the plots are still far-fetched, the storytelling lazy, the violence graphic (one poor lady got murdered with a speargun a couple episodes ago), and the FBI incompetent (I read one comment online that said “FBI” in The Following stands for “Fools Be Idiots,” which I thought was hilarious and also sadly true). But at least the show has managed some decent tension in recent episodes, even the plot twists don’t make any more sense than they used to.

I’ve also started to like Kevin Bacon more, he’s actually quite good in the role of a burned-out alcoholic (I’ll refrain from making real-life parallels here, since I know nothing whatsoever about Bacon’s personal life nor do I have any desire to find out. Just busting your chops, Kev).

I also re-watched Ralph Fiennes’ modern Shakespeare adaptation of Coriolanus recently, and I still thought it was quite good. What really struck me, aside from how intense Fiennes’ performance is, is how relevant the story is. I don’t remember if I touched on this in my original post, but it really struck me on re-watching it just how much sense the story makes in a modern context. The conflict the film presents makes a lot of sense in today’s political climate.

I then started thinking about other Shakespeare stories, and how applicable pretty much all of the stories are today. You really could make a modern adaptation of just about any Shakespeare play and it would still make sense. You’d have to change some things obviously, but you could still make it work. There was even a movie some years ago called “O” that I think was like a high-school version of Othello. I never saw it, but it exists. Joss Whedon also made a modern version of Much Ado About Nothing that comes out later this year, so that might be fun. Nathan Fillion as Dogberry is perfect casting, and it makes sense since Fillion and Whedon are old friends from their Firefly/Serenity days.

Anyway, that’s about it for now. A few updates and random thoughts are all I’ve got for the moment. I’m planning on seeing G.I. Joe Retaliation this weekend which I’m sure will be very silly and enjoyable so I’ll probably write about that next.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got a movie to watch.

Leave a Reply

